Find here the answer to common questions about SRI.

This FAQ site is part of the Smart Square project, which aims to develop and deliver the appropriate tools and applications to enable the promotion and establishment of intelliegence assessment of buildings in Europe, through the SRI scheme.

Find Categories from here…



Obstacles & challenges









Building types

Building performance & energy efficiency

Climate zones


Programs & Incentives

Availability & implementation in Member States

Documentation & tools

Energy companies / other companies




The SRI include 9 domains. Are these easily understood by the general public, or should more details be provided?

The nine (9) technical domains, namely 1) Heating, 2) Domestic hot water (DHW), 3) Cooling, 4) Ventilation, 5) Lighting, 6) Dynamic building envelope, 7) Electricity, 8) Electric vehicle charging and 9) Monitoring and control. The domains and calculation is easy to try for every citizen. There is a question, e.g., on lighting and then answers with different ratings. This makes the calculation transparent and easy to understand.

The European Union has developed factsheets that offer detailed information on the functioning of the SRI for each technical domain of buildings. These factsheets provide insights into the specific criteria, metrics, and considerations within each domain, helping individuals gain a more comprehensive understanding of the SRI assessment process. By referring to these resources, the general public can access the necessary information to better comprehend the different domains and their relevance to building performance and smart readiness.

Find the factsheets here 

Which is the methodology and parameters used to monitor the KPIs of the 9 technical domains?

The specific methodology and parameters used to monitor the Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) within the nine technical domains of the Smart Readiness Indicator (SRI) can vary depending on the certification program or regulatory framework being implemented. The SRI typically defines KPIs for each domain, which serve as measurable indicators of the building’s performance within that area. The methodology and parameters for monitoring these KPIs can involve various techniques, such as data collection through sensors, meters, or monitoring systems, analysis of energy consumption patterns, user feedback, and benchmarking against established standards or reference buildings. The precise details of the methodology and parameters for monitoring the KPIs are typically outlined in the assessment guidelines or technical documentation provided by the SRI certification program or regulatory body.